Abel Prize Laureates

Abel prize is one of the most prestigious awards given for outstanding contribution in mathematics, often considered as the Nobel Prize of Mathematics. Niels Henrik Abel Memorial fund, established on 1 January 2002, awards the Abel Prize for outstanding scientific work in the field of mathematics. The prize amount is 6 million NOK (about 1010000 USD) and was awarded for the first time on 3 June 2003.

Following mathematicians have received this award since then:

Abel Prize, 2003

Jean Pierre Serre

Jean pierre serre

for playing a key role in shaping the modern form of many parts of mathematics, including topology, algebraic geometry and number theory

Abel Prize, 2004

Sir Michael Atiyah & Isadore Singer

Michael atiyah & isadore singer

for their discovery and proof of the index theorem, bringing together topology, geometry and analysis, and their outstanding role in building new bridges between mathematics and theoretical physics

Abel Prize, 2005

Peter D. Lax

Peter d. Lax

or his groundbreaking contributions to the theory and application of partial differential equations and to the computation of their solutions

Abel Prize, 2006

Lennart Carleson


for his profound and seminal contributions to harmonic analysis and the theory of smooth dynamical systems

Abel Prize, 2007

Srinivasa S. R. Varadhan

Srinivasa s. R. Varadhan

for his fundamental contributions to probability theory and in particular for creating a unified theory of large deviation

Abel Prize, 2008

John Griggs Thompson & Jacques Tits

John griggs thompson & jaques tits

for their profound achievements in algebra and in particular for shaping modern group theory

Abel Prize, 2009

Mikhail Leonidovich Gromov

Mikhail leonidovich gromov

for his revolutionary contributions to geometry

Abel Prize, 2010

John Torrence Tate

John torrence tate

for his vast and lasting impact on the theory of numbers

Abel Prize, 2011

John milnor

John Milnor 

for pioneering discoveries in topology, geometry, and algebra

Abel Prize, 2012

Endre Szemerédi

for his fundamental contributions to discrete mathematics and theoretical computer science, and in recognition of the profound and lasting impact of these contributions on additive number theory and ergodic theory

Abel Prize, 2013

Pierre Deligne

Pierre deligne

for seminal contributions to algebraic geometry and for his transformative impact on number theory, representation theory, and related fields

Abel Prize, 2014

Yakov sinoi photo
 Yakov Sinoi

for his fundamental contributions to dynamical systems, ergodic theory, and mathematical physics.

Abel Prize, 2015

John F. Nash Jr. and Louis Nirenberg

Jonh nash
Louis nirenberg

“For striking and seminal contributions to the theory of nonlinear partial differential equations and its applications to geometric analysis.”

Abel Prize, 2016

Andrew Wiles

“For his stunning proof of Fermat’s Last Theorem by way of the modularity conjecture for semistable elliptic curves, opening a new era in number theory.”

Andrew wiles1 3

Abel Prize, 2017

Yves Meyer

“For his pivotal role in the development of the mathematical theory of wavelets.”

695px yves meyer conservatoire national des arts et métiers philippe binant archives

Abel Prize, 2018

Robert Langlands

“For his visionary program connecting representation theory to number theory.”

800px langlands2

Abel Prize, 2019

Karen Uhlenbeck

“For her pioneering achievements in geometric partial differential equations, gauge theory and integrable systems, and for the fundamental impact of her work on analysis, geometry and mathematical physics.”

Uhlenbeck karen 1982
Gaurav Tiwari

Get useful blogging, marketing and learning resources, delivered to your mailbox once in a week.

With tools to help you learn, grow and earn better.
Get 4 exclusive e-books & templates for free to begin with. 🎁

You can either start a new conversation or continue an existing one. Please don't use this comment form just to build backlinks. If your comment is not good enough and if in some ways you are trying to just build links — your comment will be deleted. Use this form to build a better and cleaner commenting ecosystem. Students are welcome to ask for help, freebies and more. Your email will not be published or used for any purposes.

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: