In our everyday life , while trying YouTube videos we often come across notifications which prompt, “This video is Private or Unlisted” and as a result we cannot play those videos. Moreover , while uploading certain videos sometimes you don’t want the whole world to see those videos for this you can change its privacy settings by making it private. But have you ever wondered what private and unlisted videos signify? Or how are private videos different from that of Unlisted Videos? However both have their own roles to play in the YouTube world.
So, before bouncing back on the differences between Unlisted and private videos. Let’s take a look at the terms like ‘private’ , ‘unlisted’ and ‘public’.
Public YouTube Videos
Public is the default video setting given on YouTube. If you want your YouTube video to be viewed by everyone then you can change your account’s privacy settings to public. Doing this will not only attract more audience on your channel but can also help you in building personal brand and making money through it.
Moreover, if you want to flourish your business and make more YouTube subscribers on your channel then you can upload public videos like commercial videos, instructional videos, product review videos and many more.
Private YouTube videos
Private videos are the safest type of videos on YouTube. If you have set your videos to private, it means that only you and the person you invite is available to access that video, no one else.
In order to share the video you’ll find a share option on the right side of the screen and then you can share with the one you want via email. But if the person wants to forward the mail to someone else; unfortunately it won’t work. So in this way your video will remain private.
Most of the teachers use private video for the online classes or for online courses . And it proves to be very useful in that case.
Unlisted YouTube videos
In this case if you make your video unlisted, it means that your video will neither pop up on the search list nor will anyone be able to see that video on your channel either. Only you can watch the videos and can share them with anybody you want. Moreover they can also share it with others. And that’s how people can watch that video no one else can in a chain.
It is also considered very effective for the ones who don’t want to show their videos to the public but want to share them with their friends and family members.
Difference between unlisted videos and private videos
Youtube provides these two features to maintain your privacy. Both are very useful in their own way depending on your work .
Here are some main points which make unlisted and private videos different from each other. These differences are as follows:-
- Both features are unavailable for the public which means no one can view them without your permission.
- For “private” video it will appear on your channel yet cannot be playable. But in case of unlisted videos they will be available to anyone in your channel too, if they are able to find the video URL somehow.
- Private videos, as the name itself means privacy, signifies that no-one can access your videos without your permission only the person to whom you shared through mail will be able to see it.
On the other hand, Unlisted video will also remain hidden but you can share it by sending the video link to your closed ones. In addition then they can also share your video to their known people . So in this way, your video will continue to be in a particular chain of people and will remain hidden from others.
YouTube doesn’t allow scheduling of unlisted videos whereas you can schedule private videos if you want to report it as public at any given point of time.
How can you change the privacy setting for your video?
If you want to change the privacy of your video, you first need to log into your YouTube account and then click on the upload icon which is present in the upper right corner for uploading a video.
After you select the video file, YouTube will guide you through the process in which you can choose the visibility of the YouTube video you have uploaded.
YouTube provides you with these three visibility options so that you can filter undesired users and can make your videos highly secure.
Here is the video walkthrough: