While selling houses might seem like an easy job, especially to sales enthusiasts, getting a real estate license might not be so easy. You need to undertake a curse in real estate and take a licensing exam before making your application and working with a broker.
Real Estate Pre-Licensing Course
Whichever place you reside in, you need to take the real estate pre-licensing course so that you can take the real estate exam of your state and obtain your real estate license. However, licensed attorneys who have passed their bar exam can skip right to the real estate licensing exam; no real estate course is required of them.
The course content will depend on the state you live. But most states need about 60 to 90 hours of education that is college-level concerning the real estate basics. For instance, if you are wondering how to get a real estate license in Washington or any other place in US, you need first to have 90-course hours. Topics taught include contracts, titles, property ownership types, deeds, fiduciary responsibilities, fair housing laws, and more. These courses typically cover real estate laws that are specific to both the state and the federal government.
Real Estate Licensing Exam
After undertaking the pre-licensing course and passing the final exam of the course, you can then apply for the real estate licensing exam. A majority of the states will specify the time span required to take the exam and get a license. For instance, the state of California requires you to wait for 18 days or more after getting course materials before taking the exam. The Florida state gives you two years to take your licensing exam and file for you real estate license after completing your pre-licensing course.
Real Estate License Application
After you pass the real estate licensing exam you have to apply to the real estate board of your state and incur the application fees. A majority of the states also need applicants to offer their fingerprints for criminal background verification.
For acceptance of your application, you must meet the residency and minimum age requirements. All states need you to have a high school diploma or a GED and be at least 18 years of age. The minimum age requirement of certain states like Alabama and Alaska is 19 years.
You also require having legal authorization to work in the US, and some states such as Texas need applicants to be in-state residents. A majority of the states like California, Florida, and New York, allow applicants from out of state. However, there are different licensing rules for them.
Work for a Sponsoring Real Estate Broker
An applicant requires to associate their license with a real estate broker that is licensed so that they can begin work as a real estate agent. Since the pay is usually on a commission basis, getting a broker to sponsor you is easy. But be sure to do sufficient research to get a suitable broker. Your initial months in the real estate sector is significant to the success of your career.
After completing all the steps of getting your license, you can finally become a licensed real estate agent. If you are good at closing deals, this will be a rewarding career for you.
Feel free to ask questions, send feedback and even point out mistakes. Great conversations start with just a single word. How to write better comments?